Pantun Anthology: Illustration Challenge

I have doing some illustration projects; illustrate children’s books, illustrate children’s poem, illustrate greeting cards and etc. Most of my projects is for kids except for my souvenir projects. This year, I have just accept a challenge from my brother, Subhan Zein. He challenge me to illustrate his pantun.

According to wikipedia, Pantun is a Malay poetic form. The pantun originated as a traditional oral form of expression. It is traditionally recited according to a fixed rhythm and as a rule of thumb, in order not to deviate from the rhythm, every line should contain between eight and 12 syllables. The pantun is a four-lined verse consisting of alternating, roughly rhyming lines. The first and second lines sometimes appear completely disconnected in meaning from the third and fourth, but there is almost invariably a link of some sort. Whether it be a mere association of ideas, or of feeling, expressed throughassonance or through the faintest nuance of a thought, it is nearly always traceable.

It’s widely popular in Indonesia. If Japanese people has Haiku,  a Japanese poetic form; Indonesia has Pantun.  If you are Russian, you will know Pantun in form of Chastuska. Chastuska is used for political satire or jokes but pantun is used to express love. By the time, pantun is used in widely theme such as joke, advice, politic and etc.

It’s become hard for me since this is not just an anthology project. This anthology will introduce Pantun as Indonesia poetic form to the worldwide. Aww, I am getting nervous before 🙂  . This sample below is a sample of modern pantun written by my brother, Subhan Zein and illustrated by me 🙂 I hope you like my illustration and the pantun 😉

The path is long and the earth is round

The dripping rain makes a perfect sound

To the magic of your love I am happily bound

And I’ve made your heart my favorite playground!

33 thoughts on “Pantun Anthology: Illustration Challenge

  1. Your artwork here is truly beautiful and joyful and perfectly illustrates your brother’s wonderful pantun. I especially enjoy the words and the artwork expressing that this love causes the writer to make the beloved’s heart his favorite playground. Truly wonderful!

  2. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Reply

